Welcome to

J.W. Sexton High School

Grades 7-12   |   STEM2 Early College Magnet

J.W. Sexton High School 102 S. McPherson Avenue Lansing, MI 48915 (517) 755-1070 Attendance (517) 755-1075

What is STEM2 / Early College?

Sexton's STEM2 education incorporates Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Manufacturing throughout its curriculum.

The Early College program allows students to graduate from high school and earn a college certificate for up to 30 college credits or even an associate’s degree, for free!  Classes are held with college instructors at the high school and/or at partnering colleges and universities.  Students in Early College have this opportunity all before leaving high school.

Additionally, in grades 11 and 12, student's gain opportunities with dual university enrollment, internships, job shadowing and a capstone project.

Nancy Davis, Head Secretary

(517) 755-1070
nancy.davis@lansingschools.net

Renee Motley, Registrar's Office

Phone (517) 755-2078
Fax (517) 755-1079
Sextonrecords@lansingschools.net


Dan Boggan, Principal

(517) 755-1071
Daniel.Boggan@lansingschools.net

Jami Brown, Assistant Principal (9-12)

(517) 755-4616
Jami.Brown@lansingschools.net

Semekia Talton, Assistant Principal (7-8)

(517) 755-3071
semekia.talton@lansingschools.net

Leigh Schafer, School Improvement Coordinator
(517) 755-2071

Leigh.Schafer@lansingschools.net

Kathy Hubbard, Magnet Focus Teacher
(517) 755-4605

kathy.hubbard@lansingschools.net

Casey Beauchamp, Athletic Director (7-8)

(517) 755-2070
Casey.Beauchamp@lansingschools.net

Anthony Brandon, Athletic Director (9-12)

(517) 755-4613
anthony.brandon@lansingschools.net


School Hours

2021-2022 School Year
Mon - Fri 7:25 a.m. - 2:13 p.m.
Half-day Release 10:13 a.m.


Calendar
Last Month Previous October 2021 Next Next Month
S M T W T F S
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8
9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19
20
21 22 23
24 25 26
27
28 29 30
31            
Community Input Sessions - Possible Bond 2022
More...
Sexton Closed - Oct 21 & Oct 22, 2021
More...
The Bright Side Newsletter - October, 2021
PCAC Meetings for 2021-2022
More...
11,500 Enrollment by 2025
85% Graduation Rate by 2025
90% Attendance by 2025

Title IX - Sex Discrimination/Gender Equity/Sexual Harassment

What is Title IX?

Title IX prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in any District program, service or activity including, but not limited to: educational programs or activities, e.g., extracurricular activities, student services, academic counseling, discipline, classroom assignment, grading, athletics, transportation, etc.

Unlawful Discriminatory Practices Under Title IX

Sexual Harassment (unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors and other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature)

Sexual Misconduct/Violence (rape, sexual assault, sexual battery, sexual exploitation and other forms of non-consensual sexual activity)

Stalking (repeatedly following, harassing, threatening or intimidating including by telephone, mail, electronic communication or social media)

Retaliation (adverse academic or other actions against anyone reporting or participating in an investigation of Title IX allegations)

PDF DocumentSexual Misconduct Policy
PDF DocumentSeptember 30, 2020 - Clark Hill Power Point Presentation
PDF DocumentTitle IX Grievance Procedures
PDF DocumentInvestigation Procedures A to Z - November 2, 2020


Reporting Prohibited Behavior

Members of the school district community who believe that a Title IX violation may have occurred, should discuss their concerns and/or file a complaint with the District’s Title IX coordinator:

Michael E. Jones
Title IX Coordinator
titleix@lansingschools.net
(517)755-2832


PDF DocumentHelp Hotline Phone Numbers


You may also report any form of sexual misconduct to:

Mr. Bruce Lankheet
Department of Public Safety Coordinator
bruce.lankheet@lansingschools.net
(517) 755-2030