Hope_Logo

       H.O.P.E. Scholarship Program

                                    Helping Others People Excel

 

The H.O.P.E. Scholarship Program is an education initiative in cooperation with the Lansing School District, the City of Lansing, Lansing Community College, Michigan State University, the Lansing Police Department, YMCA, and in cooperation with local businesses and private citizens.

The H.O.P.E. Scholarship Program offers Lansing School district youth an opportunity for a college education and a brighter future.  Students are initiated into the program as sixth graders.  Students promise to graduate from a high school in the Lansing School District and live it the district's boundaries in exchange for two years of free tuition at Lansing Community College.  The students are chosen by their school based on their ability to utilize the program.

The first cohort of H.O.P.E. Scholars started at  Lansing Community College in the fall of 2007.

 

If you have any question or need more information, please contact:

Teri Bernero
Director of Pathway Promise and H.O.P.E./Promise Scholar Programs
Lansing School District
519 W. Kalamazoo Street
Lansing, Michigan 48933
Office # (517) 755-1043
Fax # (517)755-1049
teri.bernero@lansingschools.net

 

Additional Resources

The Lansing Promise Website

Lansing Community College H.O.P.E. Scholar Website

H.O.P.E. Building Coordinators

Eastern High School

Catherine Bates
(517) 755-4319
Catherine.Anderson@lansingschools.net

Everett High School

Robert Dalton
(517) 755-4408
robert.dalton@lansingschools.net

Judy Hightower
(517) 755-4453
judith.hightower@lansingschools.net

Gardner Academy

Tia Bell
(517) 755-5562
tia.bell@lansingschools.net

Pearl Johnson
(517) 755-2124
lillie.johnson@lansingschools.net

Pleasant View Academy

Annette Shauver
(517) 755-3601
Annette.Shauver@lansingschools.net

J.W. Sexton High School

Sheila Nash
(517) 755-4615
Sheila.Nash@lansingschools.net

STEM Academy

Gloria Todman
(517) 755-5283
gloria.todman@lansingschools.net

Wexford Montessori Academy

Jocelyn Randle
(517) 755-1740
jocelyn.randle@lansingschools.net

Woodcreek Achievement Center

Katreva Bisbee
(517) 755-3744
katreva.bisbee@lansingschools.net

H.O.P.E. Board Members

Justin Sheehan
Executive Director
 
Mayor Virg Bernero
Representing City of Lansing
 
Chief Mike Yankowski
Lansing Police Department
 
Pauline Pasch
Representing the Capital Region Community Foundation
 
Dr. Brent Knight
President of Lansing Community College
 
Nancy Danhof
Todd Martin Youth Development
 
Mark E. Alley
Representing the Community
 
Kalea Sanford
Representing the YMCA
 
Mary Harding
Representing the Lansing Charter Schools
 
Yvonne Caamal Canul
Superintendent of the Lansing School District
 
Myra Ford
Representing the Lansing School District Board of Education
 
Jack Davis
Community Representative

 

 

H.O.P.E. Scholarship Activities & Events

Last Month September 2016 Next Month
S M T W T F S
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30