Office of Schools

Jessica Benavides

Deputy Superintendent of Schools

Schools, Competitive Grants, State and Federal Grants, Instruction, DEI (Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion), Evaluations, Assessment

Principals, School Improvement MICIP, Data Evaluation, REAP, READ, STAR, Magnet Programing, Research Requests, RGB3, IRIPs, Steering Committees, Curriculum, DIAFL, Instructional Council, New Visions Portal, Summer School, Professional Development

Michelle Laing
Sarah Hipps
Executive Assistant Executive Assistant


519 W. Kalamazoo Street
Lansing, MI 48933
(517) 755-2090 Office
(517) 755-1049 Fax

Schools Division

Kim Johnson-Ray
Ariel Rodriguez Peña
Director of Elementary Education Director of Middle Years and Academies  
Mitch Foster
Director of Secondary Education    

For information about our Magnet School offerings please visit the Magnet Schools page.

Instructional Division

Yvonne Thomas
Sarah Odneal, Ed.D.
Director of Instruction (Middle Years) Director of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Heather Guerra
Glenn Stevens
Assistant Director of Instruction (Elementary) Director of Assessment and Evaluation
Assistant Director of Instruction (High School)  

Grants Division

Curt Barnum
Joelle Letts
Director of State & Federal Programs Director of Competitive Grants
Manjinder Ghotra
Andrea Hall
Middle Years & Academies Compliance Officer Pre-K - 3 Compliance Officer
Valerie Kniffen
Bobbie Smith
High School Compliance Officer Grant Services Office Manager

Let's Talk logoIf you would like to leave a comment, send a message or have a question for the Office of School Administration, please click here.

11,500 Enrollment by 2025
85% Graduation Rate by 2025
90% Attendance by 2025