Student Support Specialists


Purpose of Program

The purpose of this program is:

  1.  To diminish the suspension and dropout rates for the district by identifying students who are at risk for school disengagement
  2. To support the improvement of the culture and climate school and district-wide to establish a safe space for learning and emotional and social growth.

Goal 1:

Target students included those who fall between the cracks, identified by a lack of connection, frequent referrals to the office, obvious emotional and academic challenges, outside of those identified as Special Education, and students with frequent absence and tardiness. The role of the staff person is to establish collaborative relationships with parents, staff, administration, and students to create a culture and environment that supports the student through advocacy and support.

This can occur through:

  1. Interpersonal interactions,
  2. Home visits for connection and assessments,
  3. Meetings with teachers and other support staff,
  4. Intervention-based programming,
  5. Community support referrals (mental health evaluations, extra-curricular activities, mentoring, etc.), and
  6. Focused and intentional attempts to understand student need.

Goal 2:

To operate from a solution-focused paradigm with a client-centered approach to serving the school community. This will occur through ongoing assessment of the culture and climate of the building and school community and the development of intervention strategies to facilitate growth oriented improvement. We intend to support the district in closing the achievement gap for minority groups, decrease overall suspension rates and student transiency, and increase the graduation rate over time through intentional support in early education for all students.

District-Wide Principles:
 

  1. A Culture of Caring

    • Children, families and the community are welcomed into a safe and nurturing environment. A culture where people are respected and treated with dignity, and diversity is valued because it adds to the richness of our community.
  2. A Culture of Collaboration

    • We intend to create an environment where extensive and strategic partnerships with a wide variety of stakeholders, invigorates and energizes our school community as it moves towards excellence.
  3. A Culture of Excellence

    • We wish to provide a high quality education in preparation to be competitive in an increasingly global economy.

 

Targeted Concepts of Program

 

 

  • Office Referrals
  • Suspensions
  • Absenteeism
  • Academic Performance

 

  • School Disengagement
  • Tardiness
  • Unproductive Behavior

Interventions of Program

 

 

  • Family Engagement & Feedback Loops
  • Teacher & Staff Consultation & Feedback Loops
  • Leadership & Responsibility Connect & Concern
  • Community Engagement & Extracurriculars

 

  • Individual Interactions
  • Grade Level Meetings
  • Intentional Programming

Framework for Support

 

 

  • Weekly, Biweekly, & Monthly Professional Development
  • Grade Level & Geographic Groupings
  • Community Involvement & Civic Engagement
  • Programmatic Collaboration & Communication

 

  • District-Wide Program Consistency
  • Quarterly Growth Evaluations
  • Monthly Reporting

 

 

WJ Davis

(517) 755-4742

 wj.davis@lansingschools.net
Attwood 

 

Theresa Van Fleet

(517) 755-5563

 theresa.vanfleet@lansingschools.net
Lewton

Cary Johnson  

(517) 755-4958 

 cary.johnson@lansingschools.net
Averill New Tech Elementary 

 

Leslie Ann Hadley

(517) 755-5636

 leslieann.hadley-travis@lansingschools.net
Lyons Elementary School

Natalie McQueary

(517) 755-1250      

 natalie.mcqueary@lansingschools.net
Cavanaugh STEAM Elementary

 

Marsu McAdoo

(517) 755-5675

 marsu.mcadoo@lansingschools.net
Mt. Hope STEAM

Willetta Ewing  

(517) 755-2282       

 willetta.ewing@lansingschools.net
Cumberland Elementary School 

 

VACANT

(517) 755-4844

 VACANT
North School

Jessica Braga-Henebry

(517) 755-1160  

 jessica.braga-henebry@lansingschools.net
Dwight Rich School of Arts

 

Jalissa Huntley

(517) 755- 5890

 jalissa.huntley@lansingschools.net
Pattengill Biotechnical Magnet School

Nancy Suarez-Long

(517) 755-5221   

 nancy.suarez-long@lansingschools.net
Dwight Rich School of Arts

 

Diamonda Edmond

(517) 755-5457

 diamonda.edmond@lansingschools.net
Post Oak International

Aaron Mendez

(517) 755-2057     

 aaron.mendez@lansingschools.net
Eastern High School

 

Dr. Carolyn Stone

(517) 755-2628

 carolyn.stone@lansingschools.net
Reo Elementary School

Lindsey Robinson 

(517) 755-4256

 lindsey.robinson@lansingschools.net
Eastern High School 

 

Kristy McCarthy                  

(517) 755-4315

 kristy.mccarthy@lansingschools.net
Riddle Elementary School

Denise Griffin

(517) 755-4489 

 denise.griffin@lansingschools.net
Everett High School 

 

Clarence Hassel, Jr.

(517) 755-4676

 clarence.hassel@lansingschools.net
 J.W. Sexton High School

Emerson Sheffey

(517) 755-4432

 emerson.sheffey@lansingschools.net
Everett High School

 

Brittney Powell

(517) 755-1630

 brittney.powell@lansingschools.net
Sheridan Road

Abigail Nowiski

(517) 755-2331

 abigail.nowiski@lansingschools.net
 Forest View Elementary School 

 

Lee Porter

(517) 755-2747

 lee.porter@lansingschools.net
Wexford Montessori

Javeeta Kyle

(517) 755-2125

 javeeta.kyle@lansingschools.net
 Gardner International Magnet School 

 

Christopher Rollins

(517)-755-5415

 christopher.rollins@lansingschools.net
 Willow Elementary School

Kimberly Pelette

(517) 755-5157 

 kimberly.pelette@lansingschools.net
 Gier Park Elementary School 

 

VACANT                    

(517) 755-1700  

Vacant
 Woodcreek Montessori 

Kieshaune Perkins 

(517) 755-1450

 kieshaune.perkins@lansingschools.net
 Kendon Elementary School 

James "Otis" Davis

(517) 887-4341

 james.davis@lansingschools.net
 Ingham County Youth Center