Student Support Specialists

Purpose of Program

The purpose of this program is:

  1.  To diminish the suspension and dropout rates for the district by identifying students who are at risk for school disengagement
  2. To support the improvement of the culture and climate school and district-wide to establish a safe space for learning and emotional and social growth.

Goal 1:

Target students included those who fall between the cracks, identified by a lack of connection, frequent referrals to the office, obvious emotional and academic challenges, outside of those identified as Special Education, and students with frequent absence and tardiness. The role of the staff person is to establish collaborative relationships with parents, staff, administration, and students to create a culture and environment that supports the student through advocacy and support.

This can occur through:

  1. Interpersonal interactions,
  2. Home visits for connection and assessments,
  3. Meetings with teachers and other support staff,
  4. Intervention-based programming,
  5. Community support referrals (mental health evaluations, extra-curricular activities, mentoring, etc.), and
  6. Focused and intentional attempts to understand student need.

Goal 2:

To operate from a solution-focused paradigm with a client-centered approach to serving the school community. This will occur through ongoing assessment of the culture and climate of the building and school community and the development of intervention strategies to facilitate growth oriented improvement. We intend to support the district in closing the achievement gap for minority groups, decrease overall suspension rates and student transiency, and increase the graduation rate over time through intentional support in early education for all students.

District-Wide Principles:

  1. A Culture of Caring

    • Children, families and the community are welcomed into a safe and nurturing environment. A culture where people are respected and treated with dignity, and diversity is valued because it adds to the richness of our community.
  2. A Culture of Collaboration

    • We intend to create an environment where extensive and strategic partnerships with a wide variety of stakeholders, invigorates and energizes our school community as it moves towards excellence.
  3. A Culture of Excellence

    • We wish to provide a high quality education in preparation to be competitive in an increasingly global economy.


Targeted Concepts of Program



  • Office Referrals
  • Suspensions
  • Absenteeism
  • Academic Performance


  • School Disengagement
  • Tardiness
  • Unproductive Behavior

Interventions of Program



  • Family Engagement & Feedback Loops
  • Teacher & Staff Consultation & Feedback Loops
  • Leadership & Responsibility Connect & Concern
  • Community Engagement & Extracurriculars


  • Individual Interactions
  • Grade Level Meetings
  • Intentional Programming

Framework for Support



  • Weekly, Biweekly, & Monthly Professional Development
  • Grade Level & Geographic Groupings
  • Community Involvement & Civic Engagement
  • Programmatic Collaboration & Communication


  • District-Wide Program Consistency
  • Quarterly Growth Evaluations
  • Monthly Reporting



WJ Davis

(517) 755-4742


Theresa Van Fleet

(517) 755-5563

Cary Johnson  

(517) 755-4958
Averill New Tech Elementary 


Leslie Ann Hadley

(517) 755-5636
Lyons Elementary School

Natalie McQueary

(517) 755-1250
Cavanaugh STEAM Elementary


Marsu McAdoo

(517) 755-5675
Mt. Hope STEAM

Willetta Ewing  

(517) 755-2282
Cumberland Elementary School 



(517) 755-4844

North School

Jessica Braga-Henebry

(517) 755-1160
Dwight Rich School of Arts


Jalissa Huntley

(517) 755- 5890
Pattengill Biotechnical Magnet School

Nancy Suarez-Long

(517) 755-5221
Dwight Rich School of Arts


Diamonda Edmond

(517) 755-5457
Post Oak International

Aaron Mendez

(517) 755-2057
Eastern High School


Dr. Carolyn Stone

(517) 755-2628
Reo Elementary School

Lindsey Robinson 

(517) 755-4256
Eastern High School 


Kristy McCarthy                  

(517) 755-4315
Riddle Elementary School

Denise Griffin

(517) 755-4489
Everett High School 


Clarence Hassel, Jr.

(517) 755-4676
 J.W. Sexton High School

Emerson Sheffey

(517) 755-4432
Everett High School


Brittney Powell

(517) 755-1630
Sheridan Road

Abigail Nowiski

(517) 755-2331
 Forest View Elementary School 


Lee Porter

(517) 755-2747
Wexford Montessori

Javeeta Kyle

(517) 755-2125
 Gardner International Magnet School 


Christopher Rollins

 Willow Elementary School

Kimberly Pelette

(517) 755-5157
 Gier Park Elementary School 



(517) 755-1700  

 Woodcreek Montessori 

Kieshaune Perkins 

(517) 755-1450
 Kendon Elementary School 

James "Otis" Davis

(517) 887-4341
 Ingham County Youth Center


11,500 Enrollment by 2025
85% Graduation Rate by 2025
90% Attendance by 2025